Welcome to the GameZone24.net Forums - Serious Sam.

View Poll Results: Do you place your PC case:

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • Under your desk (bottom on the floor etc.)

    7 43.75%
  • On your desk (on top)

    9 56.25%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43
  1. #1
    Director
    Join Date
    June 2003
    Location
    zeo stole them frags
    Posts
    20,221

    Downloads: 33  Uploads: 9

    PC Case on top or below your desk?

    I had some free hours last night so I decided to test myself by version me at moy kompjuter.
    I moved my PC from under-desk place to the top of my desk (left side). Removed the printer below desk.
    I've got plenty of space under my desk for legs and it's more comfortable to sit.

    Moreover, the PC case doesn't get dirty that quickly when it's placed on desk and THE MOST IMPORTANT THING - I've tested temperatures and now my:
    GPU (graphics) temp is lower by 5-6 degrees of C.
    CPU (processor)
    temp is lower by 4-5 degrees of C.

    Post your not negotiable opinion and your setup fo choice.

    P. s. Топиц оф тчис ис нот фор Луке. Бы тчис реасон Луке иди начуи анд ти посцчел срат
    Where r my 115e? and now we Have a Problem.
    -
    -----------------

    GameZone24.net Forums founder. The Director since 2003

  2. #2
    where r my hat?

    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,966

    Downloads: 31  Uploads: 0

    what if i have 2 pc's and one is under the desk and one above?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by HeLLspAWn View Post
    I had some free hours last night so I decided to test myself by version me at moy kompjuter.
    I moved my PC from under-desk place to the top of my desk (left side). Removed the printer below desk.
    yeah the best way to kill some time

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by HeLLspAWn View Post
    I've got plenty of space under my desk for legs and it's more comfortable to sit.
    now you dont have to skip leg days anymore


    gz is just a dead site full of the rest of ss players wich r not able to etablade in other games but u have the Donors to keep it alive :facepalm: - Ghosti

  3. #3
    Advanced Membury
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Location
    In the fog of the Lost Tomb
    Posts
    1,505

    Downloads: 52  Uploads: 0

    Well, right now I've laptop so obviously on top of the desk, but at home the desktop has to be on the floor because the case is open since I can't fit a second PSU in there. Also that's weird that you got lower temps on top of your desk, shouldn't cool air collect at the bottom? Unless you had it sitting on carpet or something..

  4. #4
    Director
    Join Date
    June 2003
    Location
    zeo stole them frags
    Posts
    20,221

    Downloads: 33  Uploads: 9

    Post photo how does it look like.

    Moy legs are expancive, must care alot of them
    Where r my 115e? and now we Have a Problem.
    -
    -----------------

    GameZone24.net Forums founder. The Director since 2003

  5. #5
    Director
    Join Date
    June 2003
    Location
    zeo stole them frags
    Posts
    20,221

    Downloads: 33  Uploads: 9

    Quote Originally Posted by Barktooth View Post
    Well, right now I've laptop so obviously on top of the desk, but at home the desktop has to be on the floor because the case is open since I can't fit a second PSU in there. Also that's weird that you got lower temps on top of your desk, shouldn't cool air collect at the bottom? Unless you had it sitting on carpet or something..
    Not at all, I've tried to sit under my desk and I was about to fry there. There's no ventilation since desk is placed near corner in my room. When your pc is not top, it gets better ventilation because it's not "frying" under the place where air doesn't blow in.
    My pc case wasn't placed on any carpet, just simple floor-panels.

    The best way to check your temps is to play cirius cem for 5 minutes while pc is placed on the floor, then just move it to the bottom and do second test.

    I use HWinfo64, it gives me all the info I need.
    Where r my 115e? and now we Have a Problem.
    -
    -----------------

    GameZone24.net Forums founder. The Director since 2003

  6. #6
    Advanced Membury
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Location
    In the fog of the Lost Tomb
    Posts
    1,505

    Downloads: 52  Uploads: 0

    Well I'm in Russia at the moment, but this an old pic of it:



    Quote Originally Posted by HeLLspAWn View Post
    Not at all, I've tried to sit under my desk and I was about to fry there. There's no ventilation since desk is placed near corner in my room. When your pc is not top, it gets better ventilation because it's not "frying" under the place where air doesn't blow in.
    My pc case wasn't placed on any carpet, just simple floor-panels.

    The best way to check your temps is to play cirius cem for 5 minutes while pc is placed on the floor, then just move it to the bottom and do second test.

    I use HWinfo64, it gives me all the info I need.
    Ah OK, then I see.. And lol, Sirius Semen is like the worst benchmark for temps

  7. #7
    Director
    Join Date
    June 2003
    Location
    zeo stole them frags
    Posts
    20,221

    Downloads: 33  Uploads: 9

    True, but if you just want to know the difference, you need to run something (benchmark) twice with the same duration. No matter what game or benchmarking program it's gonna be.
    Where r my 115e? and now we Have a Problem.
    -
    -----------------

    GameZone24.net Forums founder. The Director since 2003

  8. #8
    Advanced Membury
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Location
    In the fog of the Lost Tomb
    Posts
    1,505

    Downloads: 52  Uploads: 0

    Quote Originally Posted by HeLLspAWn View Post
    True, but if you just want to know the difference, you need to run something (benchmark) twice with the same duration. No matter what game or benchmarking program it's gonna be.
    At least use a demo in SS, that way it's the same amount of load on your CPU/GPU every time.

  9. #9
    where r my hat?

    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,966

    Downloads: 31  Uploads: 0

    why do you need 2 psu's ??


    gz is just a dead site full of the rest of ss players wich r not able to etablade in other games but u have the Donors to keep it alive :facepalm: - Ghosti

  10. #10
    Advanced Membury
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Location
    In the fog of the Lost Tomb
    Posts
    1,505

    Downloads: 52  Uploads: 0

    Quote Originally Posted by AmcoTraD View Post
    why do you need 2 psu's ??
    Because one of them isn't enough to power 6870 + everything else, I think it's like 150W only or something. And it doesn't have enough connections for PCI-E. The second one powers only the GPU and has the 6-pin PCI-E.

  11. #11
    where r my hat?

    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,966

    Downloads: 31  Uploads: 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Barktooth View Post
    Because one of them isn't enough to power 6870 + everything else, I think it's like 150W only or something. And it doesn't have enough connections for PCI-E. The second one powers only the GPU and has the 6-pin PCI-E.
    a 250W PSU (if the 2nd is one) can easily power up your complete system..

    and the 6pin can easily be connected and bridged that doesnt matter


    gz is just a dead site full of the rest of ss players wich r not able to etablade in other games but u have the Donors to keep it alive :facepalm: - Ghosti

  12. #12
    Advanced Membury
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Location
    In the fog of the Lost Tomb
    Posts
    1,505

    Downloads: 52  Uploads: 0

    Quote Originally Posted by AmcoTraD View Post
    a 250W (if the 2nd is one) can easily power up your complete system..
    Probably, but then I'd need to a lot of soldering.. When I get back I'll probably get a new 450W.

  13. #13
    where r my hat?

    Join Date
    January 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,966

    Downloads: 31  Uploads: 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Barktooth View Post
    Probably, but then I'd need to a lot of soldering.. When I get back I'll probably get a new 450W.
    nah you can just drill the wires together and put tape on it, works just as fine..

    but seriously.. a noname PSU with 400W costs you only 18€.. i can send you one if u promise to give immo red rep every month until 2080

    - - - Updated - - -

    edit: lol only 14€ xD

    https://www.ebay.de/itm/400-Watt-ATX-...item1e86d85c90


    gz is just a dead site full of the rest of ss players wich r not able to etablade in other games but u have the Donors to keep it alive :facepalm: - Ghosti

  14. #14
    Advanced Membury
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Location
    In the fog of the Lost Tomb
    Posts
    1,505

    Downloads: 52  Uploads: 0

    Yea well I can only buy from Amazon (I have like 20 gift cards in there lol) and I want a bit of "future proof" if I upgrade my mobo/CPU or something, so screw no-name

  15. #15
    Amco's fanboy
    Join Date
    March 2008
    Location
    Currently Iceland
    Posts
    3,765

    Downloads: 200  Uploads: 24

    I have my pc under the desk, there's a special shelf for him. On top it would cover my screen, also i keep more important things on my desk such as pistachios shells/empty water bottles or carcinogenic food



    People who lead a very successful business, usually tend to have extremely low freetime which results in depressions.
    The only thing that matters is personal happines and health, money can destroy both.
    ~Amco 2016

    It doesnt matter what you look like, or what stereotype you fulfill as long, as you're modest
    and respectful towards everyone, and feel comfortable about yourself.
    ~Amco 2020

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. My new pc case
    By the priest in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28.05.2011, 22:06
  2. What is on your desk right now?
    By Hardcore in forum Chatterbox
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04.01.2005, 20:42
  3. Some pics of my case
    By C2H5OH Guy in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 10.07.2004, 20:13
  4. In case you didn't know...
    By Stifmeister in forum Chatterbox
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11.03.2004, 18:04

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •